Oh silence, how I hate you

There was a time when silence was my hiding place, a peaceful place where I could find rest for my weary soul.  But now Silence –  you’re my nemesis. You’re a plague. In your presence there is no place to hide. When you surround me, I stumble. When you touch me, I fall. You linger in the shadows. You hide in the hustle and bustle of my daily life. I know you’re there.

When day turns to night, the kids are tucked in, and I should sleep – there you are. When I get in my car and no one else is there – you appear.

Oh silence how I hate you. For in you I can’t escape the memories. I can’t escape the pain. You wrap yourself around me and I drown.I drown into the memories, those beautiful and special memories of that life well lived. Those arms that used to hold me. The hand that brushed my cheek. The heart that deeply loved me. The soul that made me seek.

When my eyelids close I see him. That glorious smile glitters. He hasn’t lost that sparkle in his eye. I smile, take a breath, and open my mouth to speak. The image fades. My heart breaks. I’m reminded once again. You’re not here.

4 Comments

Filed under grief, life

4 responses to “Oh silence, how I hate you

  1. Åååå Cecilie. Det er overveldende smertefullt. Med tiden bli det litt mer numment men da er ikke bildene så klare heller og da gjør dét vondt.
    Stor og god klem ❤

  2. allrighthere

    Takk Line. Jeg vet at du vet hvordan det er. Kunne ønske ingen av oss visste det. Klem tilbake

  3. Amma

    I could feel the pain when I read your post. It took me a long time to get over my father’s death. For a long time it wouldn’t just sink in that he was no longer with me. I was very close to him, for me he was the best father in the world, who could find a solution for all the problems and show me the right path. Time is a great healer but there are moments when it hurts even after 9 years.But then most of the time what you have are fond memories of the good times. Whenever you feel sad, just think that he would want you to be happy all the time and think of the good times you shared. BTW I am MGM’s mom

  4. allrighthere

    Hi Amma. Thank you so much for commenting on my post 🙂 Always fun to have someone new stop by – especially MGM’s mom! You’ve sure done something right because she’s just plain AWESOME!

    Losing my dad is wrenching. He was 65. Having had my mother sick most of my life it was my dad that took care of me most of the time. We vacationed alone… we were best friends. I feel lost without him. Guess I’ve finally been thrown out of the nest and am having to spread my wings and fly all on my own. It’s not easy without your coach – or #1 cheerleader.

    You’re right – I need to think of the fact that HE wouldn’t want me to wallow in my grief. He would want me to live my life to the fullest – and that’s what keeps me going. It doesn’t stop that big claw from gripping my heart several times a day…

    We’re lucky to have had amazing fathers! That truly is a blessing.

Leave a comment